Thursday, 16 July 2015

Basic concepts of Taal

We briefly discussed the basic concepts of Taal in our previous post. Now lets discuss the same here in detail.

1. Tali: Each Taal is characterized by a particular pattern and number of claps called 'Tali'.

2. Khali: Khali is the wave of hands. These have a characteristic relationship with the claps.

3. Vibhag: Vibhag is the measure. Each clap or wave specifies a particular section or measure. These measures may be of any number of beats, yet most commonly 2,3,4 and 5 beats are used,

4. Matra: Matra is a beat. It can be subdivided if required.

5. Bol: Bol is the mnemonic system where each stroke of the drum has a syllable attached to it. That syllable is called Bol.

6. Thekka: Theka is a conventionally established pattern of bols, Tali, Khali, Vibhag which define that particular Taal. For eg. Theka for teen taal is

dha dhin dhin dha | dha dhin dhin dha | dha tin tin ta | ta dhin dhin dha

7. Laya: Laya in simple words is a Tempo. Basically it is divided into 3 parts: Slow (Vilambit), Medium (Madhya) or Fast (Drut). It can also be Ati Dhrut, Ati-Ati Dhrut, Ati Vilambit, Ati-Ati Vilambit.

8. Sam: First beat of any cycle is usually stressed and that is called Sam.

9. Avartan: Avartan is the basic cycle which is composed of 'Vibhag' and 'Matras'. Avartan may be of any number of beats. The most commonly used number of beats are 16, 12, 10, 8, 6. 

Monday, 13 July 2015

What is Taal or Tal or Tali?

Taal is the Indian Pattern of Rhythm in which certain beats called 'Bol' get repeated in every cycle. Each cycle has a fixed number of beats. For example Ek Taal has 12 beats, Teen Taal has 16 beats, Keherwa has 8 beats. Taal actually means clap in the performance. It is  an important component of Indian Classical music. Usually Tabla is used to play the taal in different tempos or speed.

Taal can be Fast (Dhrut Laya), Medium (Madhya Laya) or Slow (Vilambit Laya) depending on the composition. Laya can also be Ati Dhrut, Ati-Ati Dhrut, Ati Vilambit, Ati-Ati Vilambit. We will learn more about it in our future posts. Now lets learn the basic concepts of Taal.

Basic concepts of Taal:

  1. Tali or Bhari
  2. Khali
  3. Vibhag or Ang
  4. Matra
  5. Bol
  6. Theka
  7. Lay
  8. Sam
  9. Avartan
These concepts are discussed in detail here-